What are teams?

Teams allow you to add multiple people to your account under one subscription. Teams consist of a team owner and several team members and is a feature available on our Business and Pro packages. Whilst you can collaborate with other people without using teams, the team packages are better value for money and make it easier to manage access to plans on your account.





What can team owners do?

The team owner is the person who purchases the subscription for the account. They are the owner of the account and can do everything. If you are still on a trial period, the team owner will be the first person to send an invitation out to another person to join the team. The team owner is the only person who can manage billing or invite other team members. Team owners will automatically have access to all plans created on the account by other team members.




What can team members do?

They can create new plans on your account however they can't delete plans unless they are the plan owner (the plan owner is the person who first creates a plan).


Team members can't see the billing area and they can't invite people to your team.


Team members still have sharing capability inside plans. Whilst they can't add team members, they can adjust existing team members permission on plans and they can also invite non-team members to plans. 




How to invite a team member

Only the team owner can invite new members. You can invite new members in two ways:


On the people page

  1. Click on the people tab in your account area
  2. Click 'invite team member'
  3. Enter the email address of the person you wish to join and click send
  4. They will receive an invitation email. Clicking 'join team' inside the email will complete the process.




Note - this method also provides you with a tick box option to give this user editor access to all existing plans on the account. This will not give them access automatically to new plans created later on though.


On a plan

  1. With a plan open, click the +share button in the top right
  2. Click the orange + icon next to the team members title.
  3. Choose whether this team member should have viewer or editor access to this plan
  4. Enter their email and press 'send invite'
  5. As with the people page method, they will need to click 'Join team' inside the invitation email to complete the process. 




Note -  this will give the team member access to just this plan and no other plans on the account. 


In addition, if someone is already invited to one of your plans as a non-team member, you can invite them to your team by clicking the 3 dot options button next to their email address on plan sharing area. This gives you an option to invite them to your team if you have room.





Giving team members access to plans


Team member access is managed in the sharing panel for each plan. This can be access by click the + icon on a plan tile on the 'My plans' tab or clicking the +share button inside a plan itself. Any team member on your account will appear on this panel, even if they do not have access to that plan (in which case they will have 'No access' text by their email address). In the example below mary.brown@brixx.com does not have access yet. 




The book icon represents viewer access. The person with a pencil represents editor access. Clicking the cross on the right hand side will remove access from the plan. If someone has no access, you can click either the viewer or editor icon to provide this option. You can learn more about viewer and editor permissions here.



We have adopted a careful approach to giving team members access to plans which may contain sensitive financial information. By default, team members will not be given access to new plans on the account and team members can be invited to an account with no access to any plans at all. However, the team owner will always have access to every plan created on the account by any team member. 


The team owner can quickly see an overview of access on the my plans page. Each plan tile has a sharing icon with a number on it representing how many people have access to that plan. 



Removing a team member from your account

The team owner can remove a team member either on the people page or inside a plan. Both user the same method.


  1. Click the 3 dot options icon next to the team member email address on the left side.
  2. Click 'remove from team'
  3. Confirm the action




This person will be moved from you team and placed in the non-team members area. They will still have viewer access to plans they had access to when they were on your team. You can completely remove them from plans by clicking the cross next to their name on the share panel for each plan.