Any part of your plan can be switched off by clicking on the round button to the left of the item's name. We call this the enable disable button (elegant I know). When an item is disabled it stops sending any numbers to the Dashboard and Reports. An item that is turned off is still in your plan and you can still edit it exactly as you would anything else in your plan. Enable/disable is a tool to help you experiment with and test your business without having to constantly add or delete items to achieve different results.
If you have your dashboard or reports open at the same time, you'll see them immediately update when you enable or disable an item.
- Clicking on the coloured circle next to a component will just turn off that single component (the exception being income components with cost of sales or inventory attached).
- Clicking on the grey circle next to a group will turn off all the components inside that group.
- Clicking on a grey circle next to a section will turn off every group (and therefore components) inside that section too.
What should you use enable/disable for?
Disabling something is a non-destructive way of removing something from your plan. It's perfect for temporarily removing specific activities you don't want to view at the moment or isolating certain parts of your plan to analyse in detail. It's a quick and easy tool for testing out scenarios on the fly.
Here are some suggested uses.
- Remove a specific activity. E.g not employing someone, not taking on a specific extra cost, not taking a loan etc.
- Isolate parts of your plan. Turning off various parts of your plan will allow you to look at the remaining parts in isolation to judge their performance at a glance.
- Compare two different activities. Add two versions of the same item and turn them on and off in turn, to see how they change your numbers.
- Experimenting with different growth ideas. You could create entire sections or groups dedicated to trying out an idea, then turn it on or off to see how it affects the entire business.